top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturethehammond

Meet the Team - Debbie

Each week we would like to share a few facts about members of our team. This week we showcase Debbie Owens:


I have worked at The Hammond just under two years and what a strange two years of stop and start it has been.


I have worked with children and young people for just over 30 years. Within this vocation of life I have worked in social work, youth and community work, education and forest schools.


I am a qualified social worker, teacher, youth and community worker and a few years ago qualified to teach mindfulness in an outdoor woodland setting


I love working as a weekend houseparent with the young people as it really allow us to spend time with the young people and engaging in weekend activities. I feel privileged to work with the young people who have such extraordinary talent. I love that that on some weekends I go away at the age of 50 plus having learnt a new recipe from the girls

(Thanks Anna and Jasmine Yr 8). I love that the girls inspire each other’s aspirations and that as houseparent’s we are here for their journey along.


A few facts about me:

  • I have two grown up children who are both mental health nurses in the NHS. #thanksNHS

  • I have two grandsons and soon to be a third.

  • I watch trees grow. 18 years ago myself and my partner planted 80 thousand trees to create a welsh woodland in Snowdonia where we love to go and stay in the caravan.

  • My telly claim to fame is I once was on telly dressed as a bin when I worked for Keep Britain Tidy.



107 views
bottom of page